top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatelyn Pabila

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

1. Chlorine - It smells salty and chemical like.

Where: At the pool at the Hyatt Regency in Waikiki. When: Sunday afternoon.


2. Hotel Towels - It's a strong smell, but it's a smell that I only ever smell at hotels. It's almost musty smelling. However, I really like the smell and it reminds me of all the times I have traveled to the big island with my mom and dad.

Where: At the Hyatt Regency

When: Sunday


3. Chocolate M&M's - The smell of chocolate reminds me of my dad. I was always a daddy's girl growing up and we used to always love getting desert and chocolate ice cream.

Where: At prom.

When: Saturday night.


4. Popcorn - The smell made me hungry.

Where: Koko Marina theatres.

When: Sunday afternoon.


5. McDuff (my friend's dog)

Where: My friend's house in Hawaii Kai.

When: Saturday evening.


6. Hairspray - I always find the smell of hairspray overbearing. It reminds me of my mom because she always uses hairspray.

Where: My house.

When: Saturday afternoon.


7. Victoria's Secret Perfume - My friend has tens of different scents of Victoria Secret perfume. They all smell fruity. They make me feel happy.

Where: My house.

When: Saturday afternoon.


8. Something burning - This past weekend was prom and before we left my house my friend was helping me curl my hair. When the curling iron was warming up we could tell because we started to smell something burning. It smelt warm and what was interesting was that it made me feel alarmed. I think this is because we are trained to become alert when we smell smoke. It's not an everyday thing.

Where: My house. When: Saturday Afternoon.


9. Gasoline - The smell of gasoline makes me feel intoxicated. I feel as if I am breathing a bunch of harmful chemicals into my body that will harm me.

Where: A gas station. When: Saturday Afternoon


10. Rain

Where: At prom (Ko'olau Ballrooms).

When: Saturday Evening.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page