top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatelyn Pabila

Untranslatable Words

Describe why this term intrigues you and how you have experienced it in your life. How might you incorporate it into your everyday vocabulary from now on?


Natsukashii - (adj) when something evokes a sense of nostalgia for the past or fond remembrance, a happy look back at a past memory


This term intrigues me because soon I will be a senior. It will be my last year of high school and the last year before all of my friends and I separate for college. I know that one day I will come across an old photo of my friends or I will hear one of our favorite songs, and I will remember all of the memories we made together. These girls are the closest I will ever get to having a sister. Remembering these moments in the future will be sweet and sour because I know I will miss them all immensely, but it will also be sweet, knowing that the moments were so sweet. While this thought initially came into my head when I read the definition of the word, I have also experienced it already in my life. I have came across some of my favorite stuffed animals in my closet from when I was a kid. The smell of my teddy bear and monkey allow me to relive some of the best childhood memories.


Natsukashii is a Japanese word and both my parents are of Japanese ethnicities. Every once in a while my mom and dad try to teach me Japanese words. Now it will be my turn and I can teach them this word.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

1. Chlorine - It smells salty and chemical like. Where: At the pool at the Hyatt Regency in Waikiki. When: Sunday afternoon. 2. Hotel Towels - It's a strong smell, but it's a smell that I only ever s

bottom of page